Personal AI assistant
OpenClaw Hosting
OpenClaw is an open-source personal AI assistant that connects to chat apps and runs continuously. It needs an always-on host and an AI model provider (API key or bundled credits).
5 plans · prices last checked 2026-10-20 ·Official docs
What OpenClaw needs from a host
OpenClaw is a self-hosted gateway that connects chat apps such as Discord, Signal, Slack and Telegram to AI agents. One Gateway process runs on your server, so the host has to stay online and reachable by your chat integrations.
OpenClaw hosting plans compared
Filter in the full table →| Provider / Plan | Agents | Type | Intro price | Billing / upfront | Renewal | CPU / RAM | Storage | Backup | AI model cost | Root | Region | Verified | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DigitalOceanBasic Droplet 1 GB | Hermes Agent OpenClaw n8n | Self-Managed VPS | $6.00/mo | Monthly | $6.00/mo | 1 vCPU / 1 GB | 25 GB SSD | Optional paid backups add-on | Not included: you pay your AI provider directly | Yes | Multiple regions (NA, EU, APAC) | 2026-10-20Pending review | Details Visit(opens in a new tab) |
| HostingerKVM 1 VPS | Hermes Agent OpenClaw n8n | One-Click VPS | $6.49/mo | 2 years upfront$155.76 today | $11.99/mo | 1 vCPU / 4 GB | 50 GB NVMe | Not disclosed | Not included: you pay your AI provider directly | Yes | Not disclosed | 2026-10-20Pending review | Details Visit(opens in a new tab) |
| HostingerKVM 2 VPS | Hermes Agent OpenClaw n8n | One-Click VPS | $8.79/mo | 2 years upfront$210.96 today | $14.99/mo | 2 vCPU / 8 GB | 100 GB NVMe | Not disclosed | Not included: you pay your AI provider directly | Yes | Not disclosed | 2026-10-20Pending review | Details Visit(opens in a new tab) |
| DigitalOceanBasic Droplet 2 GB | Hermes Agent OpenClaw n8n | Self-Managed VPS | $12.00/mo | Monthly | $12.00/mo | 1 vCPU / 2 GB | 50 GB SSD | Optional paid backups add-on | Not included: you pay your AI provider directly | Yes | Multiple regions (NA, EU, APAC) | 2026-10-20Pending review | Details Visit(opens in a new tab) |
| HostingerManaged OpenClaw | OpenClaw | Fully Managed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Some AI credits included; extra usage billed separately | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-10-20Pending review | Details Visit(opens in a new tab) |
Prices exclude AI model/API usage and taxes. "Intro price" is the monthly equivalent of the first billing term; renewal applies afterwards. Different currencies are not converted. How we compare
Fully managed vs VPS for OpenClaw
Lowest-cost way to run OpenClaw
Running OpenClaw yourself on a monthly VPS has the lowest known cost. Managed OpenClaw pricing is not yet confirmed from an official pricing page, so it is shown as Not disclosed.
Lowest known 12-month hosting cost in our data: DigitalOcean Basic Droplet 1 GB at $72.00 for 12 months of service, excluding AI model usage. Run your own numbers →
Operational risks to plan for
- Connected chat accounts can trigger agent actions. Restrict who can message the bot.
- Pin your Node version. A runtime upgrade can break the gateway.
- Managed OpenClaw plans may bundle model credits; check what happens when they run out.
Recommended use cases
OpenClaw guides
Frequently asked questions
Can I run OpenClaw 24/7?
Yes. That is what a hosting plan is for: the Gateway process must stay running to receive chat messages.
Is managed OpenClaw better than self-hosting?
Managed hosting removes server maintenance and may bundle models; self-hosting is cheaper and gives you full control. See our managed vs self-hosted guide.
What Node.js version does OpenClaw need?
The docs recommend Node 26, or Node 24.16+. The installer can install Node for you.